Our next GKCOA meeting will be on Sun., Aug. 26 at Lee’s Summit High School.  New officials from 3:30-4:30pm.  All officials from 4:30-6:00pm.

NEW OFFICIALS:  If you have topics or questions that you would like to see Don Gard (dongard6185@gmail.com) and Cheryl Aston (Cheryl.Aston@myfcsfinancial.com) specifically cover on Sunday, please email them directly ASAP.

ALL OFFICIALS:  The MSHSAA Part II Exam is now live.  This will be the last meeting we have before it’s due, so take the exam this week, and if you have any questions, make sure not to submit your answers and ask about any questions you’re unsure about at Sunday’s meeting.  Once you have your final answers, then go back and submit it to MSHSAA.




We are live streaming the Winnetonka jamboree at the above website on Tues., Aug. 21 beginning at 5:30pm.  The actual jamboree begins at 6:00pm, but we will cover prematch responsibilities prior to the matches.  Veteran GKCOA referees Cheryl Aston and John Eckhardt will be the referees we will highlight.  Ken Corum (GKCOA Vice President for Volleyball), Dixie Ousley (MSHSAA rules interpreter), and Don Sleet (MSHSAA mechanics interpreter) will provide the play-by-play and color commentary on the webcast.

The advantage to watching live is if you have a YouTube account and are logged in during the stream, you can ask questions that will be answered while on the air.  If you are unable to watch live, the stream will be archived.

Three matches will be played, each one will be two sets to 15.  The four teams involved will be Winnetonka, North Kansas City, Oak Park, and Staley.



  1. Make sure you are checking Arbiter daily now. Several have lost assignments because they did not accept it within the time frame.



  1. The NFHS Rules and Interpretations/MSHSAA Situations website has been posted HERE.  MSHSAA has noted to check this page often, as situations and clarifications may be posted there as the season goes on.
  2. In our GKCOA meetings thus far, we have highlighted efficient transition movement from one side of the net to the other by the second referee.  Generally speaking, we need to move quicker to be set on the blocking side of the net by the time the offense makes their second contact.  Also, it is recommended that the R2 end up on the side of the team that loses the rally.
  3. HOWEVER, there are some circumstances when #2 above isn’t as prudent or even possible: (a) If two nets are connected to one pole on the R2’s side when multiple courts are being used, transitioning under the net is not a good idea.  Just stay on the receiving team’s side and do your best see net and center line violations from there. (b) If the ball quickly pinballs back and forth across the net, do not try to transition to the blocking side.  Just pick a side, stay there, and be able to see both sides of the net and center line until the traffic clears out to resume your normal duties.
  4. MSHSAA CASE PLAY #1:  Team R has two substitutions:  #10 enters the substitution zone to replace #12, while #20 waits outside the zone to replace #25.  #10 is discovered to be wearing earrings–illegal substitution.  Can #20 still sub in for #25 or is the opportunity lost?  ANSWER:  Yes – #20 for #25 is allowed because there is no second request for a substitution.  #20 for #25 is still part of the original request.
  5. MSHSAA CASE PLAY #2:  Same as case 1, except it is #20 who is wearing the earrings and it isn’t discovered until #10 has already been released to enter.  #12 and #25 are the setters and the team doesn’t want to go through with either substitution if #25 can’t enter.  Can they cancel the requests and leave #12 in? ANSWER:  #10 stays in per Rule 10-2-7-a, a team cannot reverse a substitution once the request has been made and recognized and has been released to enter.  She will have to stay in until the next dead ball and the coach could request another substitution to take her out.



If you missed the presentation at the first GKCOA meeting regarding the back row setter vs. front row blocker scenarios, here’s a video that outlines all the decisions a referee has to consider during such plays.



Host sites for districts have not yet been determined.  Check www.mshsaa.org for that information later.  The winners of District 13 in each class will host the sectional tournament.


Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 7.19.25 AM


Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 7.19.08 AM


Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 7.18.52 AM


Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 7.18.34 AM


QUESTION FROM ANONYMOUS PERSON IN THE DROPBOX:  I believe there may have been some misinformation given during the Mechanics Clinic. I have now clarified the correct information with two different veteran officials and I believe that the question was merely misunderstood. Please address allowable replay per service position as opposed to per player. (Here is the example–when a server intentionally drops the toss after the serve is beckoned because the coach realizes she is the wrong server–the correct server then moves in to serve, she is not allowed to drop the toss because the replay has already occurred for that service position).

ANSWER FROM DON SLEET:  If a player is granted a re-serve and then is replaced by the libero or a substitute during that term of service, the replacement is allowed a re-serve of her own.  See Case 8.1.5 on page 30.  If a player who has been granted a re-serve leaves and subsequently returns to the line-up during the same term of service, she is not allowed an additional re-serve.

If an incorrect server is granted a re-serve, she has used the proper server’s re-serve.  The proper server cannot be granted an additional re-serve during this term of service.  See Case 8.1.6 Situation B on page 30.  (My personal opinion:  If they’ve recognized they have the wrong server and are granted a re-serve, I’m not going to be in a hurry to beckon for serve again.  If they make the switch quickly, I’m not going to call for serve while they are switching.  They can’t be given a line-up check and if they aren’t sure of the line-up, I’m not going to give them the time to ask the scorer for the proper server.  The scorer may not know that we can’t perform a line-up check after a re-serve.)

While we are on the subject of re-serves, I suggest everyone review Case 8.1.6 Situation A.  Under NFHS rules, it does not matter if the player catches the toss or allows it to drop.  Unless the server swings *and* makes some contact with the ball, a re-serve is granted (unless she’s already been granted one in this term of service).  This is different than the re-serve under other rule codes.



We ran out of time at last Sunday’s meeting, but thanks to the new format of the Sunday Newsletter, I can post videos here now.  So, here are some of the videos I was going to show…check them out, form your opinions and we’ll go over what the actual calls were at the meeting on Aug. 26.

  1. At 0:12, was there a back row attack or not?


2.  Do you see any violation by the team on the left (look at the start of the second rally)?  If so, what was the violation?


3.  The sub is happening, but the coach jumps up to say that he didn’t want the sub.  What options does the second referee have in this situation?


4.  Would you call this as prolonged contact?


5.  Is there anything wrong with this play?